Preservation Partner Awards

Newton Award for Outstanding Preservation Stewardship

The Newton Award recognizes thorough and continuous commitment to the protection and maintenance of a pristine Madison asset. Too often we forget that day-to-day, year-to-year, and generation-to-generation the commitment of outstanding stewards of a historic property.

Named for Mr. & Mrs. Floyd D. Newton for their inspiring stewardship of Boxwood, this award is the highest award given by the Historic Preservation Commission.

2018 Recipient

St. Paul's A.M.E. Churchsp.jpg
847 Fifth Street
The congregation moved from their original building on Academy Street to their current location on Main Street in 1915 into a newly constructed church. That building, now known as the Asbury Building, remains largely unchanged 100 years later.

Past Recipients (PDF)

Brandon-Hart Award for Outstanding Preservation Leadership

The Brandon-Hart Award is given in recognition of a community leader whose contributions have insured the endurance of Madison's architectural heritage. Preservation leadership is evidenced in many sectors of the community - government, non-profit organizations, neighborhood groups, and individual advocates.

The Morgan County Landmarks Society named this award for Dr. Josephine Brandon and Dr. Carol Hart, local leaders in preservation and specifically heritage education.

2018 RecipientMadison Morgan Conservancy group

Madison-Morgan Conservancy
Presented to the Madison-Morgan Conservancy Commission for both for years of service toward preservation of Morgan County's historic sites, farmland, greenspace, and timberland as well as for their recent initiatives: the Junior Conservancy and the Endangered Properties Revolving Fund.

Past Recipients (PDF)

Hicky Award for Outstanding Preservation Intervention

The Hicky Award is given in recognition of those who engaged in truly extraordinary efforts without which Madison may have lost an important resource. Recipients are the superlative few who intervened or initiated the preservation moxy needed at an essential moment to save a historic resource from the wrecking ball, demolition-by-neglect, lack of interest, or post-fire.

The Morgan County Historical Society named this award for Col. Dan and Hattie Mina Hicky, who gave generously of their historic resources and personal time in support of heritage tourism.

2016 Recipient (no 2018 Recipient) 

Madison Fire DepartmentFire department
127 S. Main Street

Presented to the Madison Fire Department for their efforts in the preventing the destruction of 127 S. Main Street, the Vason Building.

Past Recipients (PDF)